#7 of 52: Write It Down, Make It Happen by Henriette Anne Klauser

Write it Down
Look at this adorable monkey!

Write It Down, Make It Happen – Knowing What You Want – And Getting It! by Henriette Anne Klauser, Ph.D. is a book about the old adage of “speaking your words into existence” or in this case “writing your words into existence”. I loved this book! It fell into my lap at just the right moment; especially since I’ve recently fallen again into “self-help mode”. I go through this phase a couple of times a year. I could feel myself slipping back into this mindset; the mindset of finding my core…my peace. I am without a doubt innately an introvert. It takes sincere effort on my part to get out of my shell and mingle with people. I’ve recently come to realize that about myself. My mother used to always tell me when I was a little girl that I was rude because I was dismissive, reclusive or brutally honest. I now understand that I must have been subconsciously somewhat disappointed with my own inability to connect. I’m usually in my own little word. I will confess that, at times, I can be somewhat of a misanthrope. Those are usually the times when I’ve recently been exposed to too much negative social or mass media. Then I shut down the Instagram account and stop reading the news on the Internet. I don’t have cable at home for a good reason. The catalyst for my recent return to “self-help mode” was a conversation that I had had with a coworker who told me I was completely out of touch with contemporary culture for not knowing what “cash me outside” meant, who had coined the phrase or why it was funny. He then proceeded to do me the injustice and disservice of Googling the catch phrase which had expectedly already become a musical montage on YouTube. To say that I was unamused and unimpressed is a serious understatement. Furthermore, he was genuinely bewildered by my unaffected reaction. He simply could not understand how I was not able to find humor in this ridiculous display of impertinence. What has our society come to when it considers this foolishness entertainment?

After I had left work and got in my car for the long trek home in rush hour traffic, I sat in silence. I didn’t turn on the radio. I put my work phone on airplane mode. I put my personal cell phone on silent. The only reason I didn’t turn it off was because I knew my teenage daughter would probably need to get a hold of me. At first, I didn’t really think about much. I was too tired. Then I started thinking about all of the mayhem in our office that week and how I had just ended the day with a disturbing video of a thirteen year old girl on Dr. Phil telling the world to “cash her outside” and I thought…What in the world is happening to our society? Is that what they really want? What in the world do I want? Because this despondent, social media crazed, reprehensible yet socially acceptable mentality is definitely not what I want for myself or my daughter. Suddenly my internal rift with garbage TV, “Jerry Springer” type social media overload and our newfound perception of what is considered “funny” got me thinking about a much more important internal struggle festering at my core. “Hmm…what do I really want?,” I kept asking myself. “Ugh, not sure,” I kept answering myself. Then I remembered a book that I had purchased on impulse a couple of weeks ago. (Impulse book shopping. It’s my vice. Ha!)

As soon as the garage door shut behind me and I walked into the house, I went straight for the piles of books next to my bed. Nothing. Then I checked the piles in my bible room a.k.a. additional unused walking closet. Nothing. Then I went into my home office and checked the bookshelves. Nothing. It was sitting on the kitchen counter in plain sight by itself; no other book sitting next to it. That night I started reading Write It Down, Make It Happen – Knowing What You Want – And Getting It! by Henriette Anne Klauser, Ph.D. I hadn’t enjoyed a book that much in a very long time. Every single page held a delightful nugget of wisdom. I highlighted the heck out of this book! I scribbled notes, comments, observations and random thoughts all over it. I covered every blank part of some of the pages with my note scribbling. It was as if a Divine Hand came down from the heavens and opened a faucet in the back of my head; therefore, releasing a myriad of trapped thoughts. At first, I wasn’t entirely sure I had anything to say. But once I started writing I couldn’t stop! I didn’t want to stop. I hadn’t realized I had bottled up so many thoughts that needed to be expressed even if I was the only person ever going to read them. I accepted and applied many of her suggestions. Some I had already been doing; such as writing down a “Gratitude List” every night before going to sleep. I’ve been writing that list every night for a couple of years now at my pastor’s suggestion.

I started her “List of Intentions” which I thought was a marvelous idea. Because of her book, I installed a small fountain in my home office. You’ll have to read the book to get a better understanding about the power of flowing water or the view of water. It’s great! She talks about polychromatic time which I never knew was an actual concept. All I knew is that back when I was studying in Spain there were several hours that couldn’t be accounted for. I was so engulfed and enveloped in my studies that I would enter into mental space in which time was arrested. I never knew it had a name. I could quote so many of her lines. “Life is a decision. At any point in your life, you can decide to act one way in spite of your feelings urging you to go in the other direction. When you believe in a dream, you need to risk. You could wind up waiting forever if you wait until everything looks easy.” But I’ll leave it just at that one line since it’s one of the most important ones in the book. I can’t tell you how many lists or how many thoughts I’ve written out on paper since I read this book. It has truly been a cathartic experience I HIGHLY recommend to everyone. The book was a pure delight. I gave it five (5) stars on Goodreads which is very rare for me. Let me know if you get a chance to read it. I’d love to hear what you’ve included on your lists!!

Much love,

Globetrotter Momma

P.S. – Ok, ok…one last quote…”Praying on paper is a way of acknowledging God’s presence in your life, asking for help, and giving thanks.” Enjoy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a rich post! Your several emotions are so honestly and truthfully reflected.
    I had so many thoughts when I read it. (BTW, I saw the video you mentioned. It was a bit disturbing!) And I hear you.
    The book seems really right up my alley (before I started reading regular books, Self-Help books is all I read😬) Because one gain/ learns so much from it. The List you mentioned makes sense. The quotes are inspiring. Actually, reading this post was uplifting. I made a note of it.
    Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I hope you get a chance to read the book soon. I know you’re going to love it. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it. Thanks for the kind words. I truly appreciate it! I too love Self-Help books more than regular books. I’m loving all of your photography that you’ve been recently showcasing. It’s serene and bewildering. I marvel at it. Can’t wait to see more. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. After every few “regular” books, I need a dose of SH – LOL!
        Thanks for the kind words, they mean a lot.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lol, I hear you. Same here! Keeps me sane. Haha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

