2017 Goal: 52 posts about 52 books!

book

The year…2017…the goal…52 blog posts on 52 personal book reviews! And one introduction blog post, for a total of 53 blog posts…just in case you aren’t able to do the math (insert a wink and a cheeky expression). This is one of my 2017 new year’s resolutions. Obviously, the other is to read at least 52 books this year. As you can see, today is January 13th and I’m already slightly behind schedule. Off to a poor commencement! But not all that starts poorly, ends poorly. I’ll catch up without a problem (of that I am perfectly certain). I didn’t want to start on such a predictable date as January 1st so I went with Friday the 13th instead. A bit ominous…I know. But I like it!

I’m still in the inchoate stages of creating my reading list for the year and will indubitably make changes to it on a whim depending on my mood at the time. Another aspect of my resolution is to read more fiction. I practically completely gave it up many years ago when I outgrew my romantic novel phase in my late teens. I have, however, remained faithful to Jane Austen and Neil Gaiman though the latter is not really of the romantic sort. Every year, I typically reread my favorite of their books.

Here are just some of the books that I intend to read this year:

  1. We Should Hang Out Sometime: Embarrassingly, a True Story by Josh Sundquist

  2. Theorising the Responsibility to Protect by Ramesh Thakur

  3. Shackled and Chained: Mass Incarceration in Capitalist America by Eugene Puryear

  4. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

  5. Max Perkins: Editor of Genius by A. Scott Berg

  6. The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt (Theodore Roosevelt #1) by Edmund Morris

  7. Leaves from the Notebook of a Tamed Cynic by Reinhold Niebuhr

  8. Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard by Liz Murray

  9. Griftopia: Bubble Machines, Vampire Squids, and the Long Con That Is Breaking America by Matt Taibbi

  10. Lincoln’s Battle with God: A President’s Struggle with Faith and What It Meant for America by Stephen Mansfield

I’d love to hear about your book lists, resolutions and whether you have any great recommendations that I should consider reading. I truly enjoy good book suggestions. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Here’s to a marvelously book-filled year!

Much love,

Globetrotter Momma

Quick update because I thought it serendipitously apropos:

screen-shot-2017-01-13-at-7-37-33-pm

As of 7:39pm tonight (still 01.13.17), I have officially reached 52 followers!! Could this be a fortuitous omen of a favorable outcome? I like to think so. And…I’m off!

76 Comments Add yours

  1. A Girl is a Half-formed Thing, Eimear McBride, if you’re looking for fiction which is completely original and to reignite an interest in fiction. It’s the antithesis of romance. You could hate it but it is possibly my favourite book. She has a new novel out, which is a little more tame and easy to read, called The Lesser Bohemians.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Great suggestions. I’ll definitely look into them. Thanks for stopping by. I love your blog btw. 🙂

      Like

      1. No worries, and thank you!

        Like

    2. I’m halfway through and still can’t decide if I like it!
      I think you need to read it in good chunks to get into the rhythm

      Liked by 3 people

      1. bruisedknees says:

        Definitely agree. It took my a while to understand it, to understand that you aren’t really meant to read every word, you’re kinda meant to skim over it and get the general essence, you know? I was stumbling over every word at first but when I finally got into the flow, it was such a unique experience.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. teacakesand says:

    Heyy, thanks for stopping by my blog. I think your resolution is a great idea, I would copy you but I’m such a slow reader, haha. My favourite author is Mikhail Bulgakov, but I also adore Sarah Waters and George Orwell. Looking forward to seeing what you read! x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You SHOULD copy me! You can always start off with a lower number. A few years ago during one of my non-reading lulls, I got back into the swing of things by setting up a 12-book goal in 12 months. And it worked! I fell in love with reading all over again. It was as if I was coming back home after a long journey. I wrote all about it. It was a truly cathartic experience. I highly recommend it. Thanks for the suggestions. I’ll definitely check them out. Good luck with your new reading challenge (fingers crossed you’ll do it!)! I’ll keep an eye out for it on your blog. Hehe. Love your posts. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. teacakesand says:

        Aww thank you! And yes, perhaps that’s better – I’m following a reading challenge on my blog atm (I’ll post as soon as I’ve finished the first book, which is taking foreverrrr!), but I may have to do your suggestion of 12 a year. Any authors you’d recommend?

        Like

      2. You’re welcome! Yes, absolutely…let’s see. At the moment, I’m really enjoying Vera Brittain’s “Testament of Youth”. It is so beautifully written. I have highlighted and scribbled notes all over it. Her writing is exquisite. I’m a huge history and current events buff; not sure if that’s your kind of thing. If you prefer fiction then you can never go wrong with Jhumpa Lahiri. She’s humanistic (in the psychological sense), relatable and delightful. I’d start with her book “An Unaccustomed Earth”. Robyn Davidson’s “Tracks” is a must-read though not fiction. I could go on for ever. The list is long. Lol

        Like

  3. teacakesand says:

    Ah Vera Brittain… I think that book was recommended to me whilst I was at university studying wartime novels. Do you like wartime books? If so, I really recommend Ernst Junger’s Storm of Steel and Pat Barker’s Regeneration. I couldn’t put those down! I’ll give Lahiri a go and check her out when I get back home. I love the fact you want to read Milk and Honey too – I read two extracts from it and HAD to buy it! It’s on my ‘to be read’ list at home, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fantastic suggestions! I’ll absolutely add those to my list. Oh my goodness, how funny! The same thing happened to me over the weekend. I went to pick up some socks at the mall and of course, got completely sidetracked by the bookstore at the entrance. Spent about two hours in there. I saw “Milk and Honey” displayed in a back corner. Picked it up. Read a couple of pages and fell madly in love. It’ll probably be my next book after I finish Vera Brittain. Though I must confess, I have about another 6 half-read books awaiting my attention. I can never read one at a time. ADHD issues! Haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. teacakesand says:

        Hahaha! I’m the complete opposite, I HAVE to finish one before I start another!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Peter Holley says:

    Good luck with your challenge, it sounds like a lovely way to spend a year. What’s more even if you don’t quite reach the 52 it’ll still be enjoyable.

    May I be so bold as to suggest you read a wild sheep chase by haruki Murakami. I loved it and it opened up a whole world of interesting stories for me

    B x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, you may! I’ll check it out. Thanks for the suggestion and the encouragement. I’ll probably need it. Ha! I greatly appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, that is a lofty goal, and I wish you, not only good luck with it, but great enjoyment. I am sure I will enjoy reading those reviews to see which ones I can add to my list that always seems to grow longer instead of shorter. Sigh! One of my all-time favourites, if you have not already read it, is Anthony Doer’s “All the Light We Cannot See”. Happy reading and reviewing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ha! You’re not alone in that predicament Jolandi. My “to be read” list is always longer than my “read” list and it never seems to get any shorter. Thanks for the encouraging words. I am definitely going to enjoy it but will undoubtedly need some luck too. Time may be against me here. We shall see. As for Anthony Doer’s ” All the Light We Cannot See” I haven’t read it yet but I have had it on my TBR list for quite some time. I am determined to read it this year. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

      1. Ah, the curse of the book lover! Happy reading.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Ha! Tis true. Thanks Jolandi!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Rae Longest says:

    The books you’re GOING to read look like books I SHOULD read! And if you liked Bene Brown (I did), I will probably like the reviews you are going to write. 52 reviews…WOW!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ha! Loooooove your enthusiasm. Made my night. Lol Yes, I absolutely love Brene. She’s brilliant! Thanks, I hope I can live up to the hype. Haha. Looking forward to seeing your feedback. 🙂

      Like

      1. Rae Longest says:

        Am following–how’s that for feedback. And, I’m too busy to follow blogs! Ha Ha!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha. So impressed, humbled and grateful! And I’m usually too proud to be humbled. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

  7. maristravels says:

    I wouldn’t dare make suggestions as to what you should read until I know more about you. In fact, probably not even then as I only recommend books to those whose taste in reading I really know. For myself, I read fiction, history, poetry and the occasional biography. My history reading is always late 19th – late 20th century, fiction I roam the world over, poetry modern and war stuff, and bios of people who DIDN’T leave diaries they wanted to be used to show them in a good light, which means I don’t read the lives of politicians or other so-called famous people. Love Robert Harris for faction and as one of your followers above has mentioned, Eimeir McBride, for thrillers I go for James Lee Burke, Robert Crais and Ian Rankin and I’ll read anything by Clive James, anything at all.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha. Your take on biographies made me chuckle. I completely understand your point of view. I too read a lot of history. I tend to gravitate a great deal towards the early and mid 20th century; books about the Romanovs, a few books on the Great War, so many books on WWII that it’s become a bit of an obsession at this point (I must embarrassingly concede), etc. Hmm…your selection of authors sounds interesting. I’ll definitely look into it.

      Like

  8. I love reading too and I read everyday, but I don’t think I could manage a book a week. Good luck with your new year’s resolution; It’s a good one.👍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, reading…what a delightful and underrated little indulgence. Thanks for the well wishes! Truly appreciate it.

      Like

  9. Good luck on this challenge!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. That’s a formidable list! But I’m noting down a couple to follow up on. Thanks thanks. If you’re looking for worthwhile fiction– just finished Ann Patchett’s Commonwealth– twists and turns in a fractured (but likable) family. Be looking in to see all the book reviews ahead (I know you can do it too!)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aaw, shucks. Thanks ever so much! Oh goodie, can’t wait to read your feedback. Love your blog, btw. It’s beautiful. ❤

      Like

  11. Good luck with this goal. Reading 52 books in a year is not easy, let alone reviewing them.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I’m looking forward to the challenge. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. If you like Testament of Youth, you might want to try The Forbidden Zone by Mary Borden. Thanks for dropping by my blog. Good luck with your 2017 reading goal!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh nice. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Like

  13. Congratulations on the first 50 and best wishes for many more to come!
    Keep on blogging,
    Dolly.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so very much! Hope to see you again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Most certainly! Will follow with interest.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. To set new goals and to carry on is admirable! 🌟✨💫

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Thanks for the visit. I am looking to see how your review. I just noted the ratings on the books you read but no reviews. Reviews help authors. I will be adding some reviews later today. Congratulations on the number of followers.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yep, sorry about not having any reviews in my Good Reads. I’m not sure if you’ve noticed but with the exception of a handful of points that I added back in June and the three books that I’ve read so far this year, all the rest were recently added. My old account got hacked once back in June; hence the reason why I created this one. But I was able to get it fixed and take it back. Then it got hacked again in January and this time, I completely lost all control of it and with it, all of my reviews on my books. I tried to mirror this new account as closely to the old one as possible but it’s missing a bunch of stuff including books I’ve already read. 😦 Thanks for the congratulations. Hope to see you again soon!

      Like

  16. petra08 says:

    Books are amazing, I doubt that I will read 52 books this year but the next one is Crime and Punishment, aim before summer if I sit down for long enough! Your list looks very interesting 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree! Books ARE amazing! Ah, Dostoyevsky…eek. I’ll be brutally honest. Other than with Boris Pasternak, I seriously struggle with Russian authors. While I was reading Anna Karenina, half way through it, I was reading to push her in front of the train myself just to be finished with the book. Lol Leo Tolstoy was beyond depressing for my taste. I didn’t even think he was romantic in any way. But, in all fairness, I have not read anything from Dostoyevsky. Maybe he’ll be better. Please do let me know once you’ve gotten half way through it. Great virtually meeting you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. petra08 says:

        Oh I don’t have any particular tatse and enjoy James Patterson as much as Tolstoy. I will hurry up and get reading the book faster but do agree that the Russian authors can be too heavy if you are not in the right frame of mind 🙂 Great to e-meet you as well, the wonders of a blog! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  17. equinoxio21 says:

    A very commendable goal. About a book a week, which is what I mostly manage. (I read every day, no matter what!) I don’t have a list. Just pick up what’s unread on my shelves. One of the last books I read was Submission by Houellebecque. had it on my shelves since July 2015. Every time I thought I might start, there was another killing. I’m glad I’ve finished it. Good luck with your blog. I will be back. Brian

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Brian. Funny, the same happens with me. I buy so many books that some of them will sit on my shelves for a very long time until finally one day, after first having read many others, the book will just jump out at me and it’ll finally be read. Submission by Houellebecque? I’ll check it out. Looking forward to seeing you stop by again.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. equinoxio21 says:

        The good thing about that is we never run out books. 🙂
        Not sure about the title in english. It is “Soumission” in French. Devastating.
        See you soon.

        Like

  18. Anabel Marsh says:

    Amazing challenge! Good luck and thanks for visiting The Glasgow Gallivanter.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. prepfordwife says:

    That’s an interesting list. I know it would be a long post but maybe at the end of the year, you could post the completed list.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hmm…not a bad idea. I’ll consider it. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  20. F. F. John says:

    Best of luck with your 2017 book reading challenge! I’m aiming for 30-something books this year, but I’m going to take a peek at some of the ones you’ve listed. Maybe some of them will make it onto my list too. =)

    Oh, and thanks so much for taking the time to swing by my blog.

    F. F. John

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! Go for it. Let me know what you think of them. 🙂

      Like

  21. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi. “a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?” A very moving and inspirational book.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow! This book actually sounds like something I would pick up if I saw it at the bookstore. Thanks for the recommendation. 🙂

      Like

  22. You might like Buckled And Dimes by Barbara Ehrenreich…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ll check it out. Thanks for the suggestion. I appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

      1. Drat. Nickled and Dimed. Why is autocorrect still so bad in 2017?!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ha! No worries. Happens to me all the time. I already read it. But thanks anyway for the recommendation. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  23. Thanks for spending More Time at the Table! (Loved the Max Perkins book, btw.) Blog on 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  24. My angelic friend Claire Legrand (claire-legrand.com) has several middle grade books out that are dark and beautiful. If you want something with intensity and perfect voice, her novel “The Cavendish Home For Boys and Girls” is my favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. I taught 5th grade for a few years and found more books I loved at the intermediate level than what is written for adults. The one you absolutely have to read – HAVE TO READ – is Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech. You have to.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your “like” inspired me to come visit. Your goal inspires me to read more…
    All the best…xoxox

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I hear you! I LOVE intermediate level books especially ones written by Niel Gaiman. I’ll definitely check it out if I just HAVE to read it. Lol Yes, I love that you’ll be reading more. Yay! I enjoyed your blog. Stop by again. Don’t be a stranger! 😉

      Like

  26. Lottie Fyfe says:

    One of my favourite novels of recent years is The Rehearsal by Eleanor Catton so that’s my recommendation. I’m a hopelessly slow reader so I would have no chance with this project but it’s such a great idea – good luck and hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh nice, thanks for the recommendation. I’ll look into it. And thank you for the well wishes. I hope you come back again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  27. Justine says:

    The last book about Lincoln sounds reallllllly interesting! Good luck with your reading list and thank you for the follow! : )

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know, right? I’m really looking forward to reading it. Thanks for stopping by! Looking forward to reading more from your blog. 🙂

      Like

  28. Jim Baton says:

    First off, thanks for liking my post on How Would Jesus Respond to the Travel Ban! Second, I love your goal of 52 books in 52 weeks this year. Sounds like a pleasurable way to enrich your life! I’m part envious, part inspired to read more myself, so thank you. 🙂
    As you set your reading list, if you’re interested in a Christian thriller dealing with Muslim terrorism and peacemaking, I’d be happy to send you any of my books to add to your list. You can pick any one from my website (https://jimbaton.com/) and email me which book you’d like and in what format, and I’ll happily get it to you! 🙂
    Blessings,
    Jim
    jimbaton@gmail.com

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow! Thank you so very much! That’s so kind of you. 🙂

      Like

  29. Sonali says:

    I love the idea of 52 books reviews in 52 weeks, like Julie Powell trying out Julia Child’s recipes in a year. Or at least I like to think of it that way, and think it’s an exciting prospect! I enjoyed reading the book suggestions in the comments; I love adding books to my own list on Goodreads. All the best, and I’ll be there to read the reviews, following you on the journey.
    Love,
    Sonali

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Sonali. I absolutely love your comment. And yes, I completely agree with your view. That’s precisely how I came up with it. I LOVE that movie (I’ve never read the book). Thanks for stopping by and putting a smile on my face! Looking forward to your feedback on the reviews. 🙂 Much love, Globetrotter Momma

      Liked by 1 person

  30. Kally says:

    Tough challenge but I’m sure you can do it!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Kally says:

        You’re most welcome!!

        Like

  31. Kim Luyckx says:

    I had the same idea of a 52 week challenge back in May! Mine was to live more yogically. I am currently on #36. I have missed a few weeks, but not many! It’s a chore sometimes but I love having a goal to which I am committed.

    I should definitely create a reading list for myself. Whenever I have time to read for fun I gravitate back to historical fiction. Although it is educating, it limits my perspective a bit.
    Good Luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love this goal! And I agree, it is a chore. I too enjoy history; as for historical fiction I only enjoy a Spanish author named Javier Moro. He keeps the content interesting and relevant. Thanks for the encouragement. I’ll definitely be back to visit your blog. I enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

